Great Photo Tips For Etsy Shop Sellers

by Wedding Invitation Blogger

VG INVITES  |  JUST FOR YOU  |  CONTACT  |  ETSY SHOP

My Etsy shop lay dormant for years. A few months ago I decided to revive it. The goal was to  put all that I had into learning what was needed to build sales and make my invitation shop a huge success. In the past few months my sales have jumped from 6 to 78. I attribute that to all that I have learned and applied. Now, I’m sharing my success secrets with you in a series of several blog posts throughout the months to come. I hope that you will find success in your business so that you may continue doing what you love.

Today’s focus is going to be on your shops photos. Great images really do make a difference in so many ways. As a former advertising art director for the Robb Report and working in advertising for more than 15 years, the one caveat of advice that I would give is, “great photos are one of the most important promotional tools you have in building your business.” In order for others to perceive you as a success, you must project success. Others will do business with you if you have great photos. Why, because you seem trustworthy. You invested in your business, and you are going to be here for the long haul. If you have a budget to hire a professional photographer, it truly is a great investment. However, if you don’t, that doesn’t mean that you have to have icky photos. There is a lot that you can do to pump up your shops image. And I’m going to show you how.

I am going to show you how to take drab images like this…

Handmade Kraft Paper Envelopes

Untouched image of handmade kraft paper envelopes from VG Invites

…and brighten them up to look like this.

Kraft Paper Envelopes from VG Invites

Retouched image of handmade kraft paper envelopes from VG Invites

In this tutorial, you will be using PhotoShop. If you don’t have PhotoShop, you can download a 30 day trial from the Adobe website. If you find that the learning curve is too great, (and I hope you won’t) or there just isn’t enough time in the day to do everything, I will be happy to edit your photos (at a ridiculously reduced fee per photo for fellow Etsians). Why? Because I love what I do and I love promoting success in others who love doing what they do. Visit my other (New) Etsy shop and convo me for details. www.VGLogoDesigns.etsy.com

PHOTOSHOP TUTORIAL

Open PhotoShop

Then open the photo that you would like to lighten and brighten. Click on FILE > OPEN and then search for the image and click on it to open.

PhotoShop Tutorial

Once you have your image open check to see that it is in RGB mode. Got to IMAGE > MODE > RGB.

Photoshop Tutorial

To lighten and brighten your image, click on the Adjustment Layer tool in the lower left corner of your window. Select Levels.

PhotoShop Tutorial

This will open up your Levels dialog box. Click on the White Eyedropper tool.

Etsy Tips

Then click on the whitest and lightest spot in your photo. For my image, it was the upper right hand corner. It may be different for you.

If your photo seems too bright, you can adjust the opacity of the layer by click and dragging the slider as shown below.

Etsy Tips

It is as simple as that. 🙂

Having a shop with great looking photos helps contribute to your success in so many ways. It increases traffic to your site, your shop gets faved, Tweeted, and Pinned more often. More shops with a higher stature want to form strategic alliances with you…(I know this for a fact). And one final caveat. Zig Ziglar once said, “People don’t by for logical reasons. They buy for emotional reasons.” We may think that we need something…and part of that is true. We buy a car because we need it. Logical. We buy a hot red sporty car because it makes our heart sing. Emotional. It made our heart sing when we first saw how sexy it looked in a magazine ad and television commercials. Why not give your shop some sex appeal and watch how differently people respond to you.

I have lots of great tips and tricks for producing awesome looking photos. Too many for today’s tutorial. If you bookmark my blog, you can come back often to see what’s new. Have a wonderful day.

This tutorial was brought to you by VG Invites and VG Logo Designs.

